» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Flickr Reviews

Flickr image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 13 reviews)

Category: Photo Sharing Websites (AKA Online Photo Album Sites)
Website: http://www.flickr.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.3 Stars) based on 13 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Quality of Sharing Features:
Range/Quality of Prints and Gifts:
Other Features:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
0 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
0 Reviews
2 Stars
4 Reviews
1 Star
9 Reviews

Only 0% of Users Recommend it



9 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 9 of 9
Why would ANYONE ever trust flickr again?
08 November 2018
Reviewer: Mcsluggo from USA

9 of 17 people found this review helpful

They lured you to their site with the offer of a free terabyte of photo backup, and then abruptly announce that they will delete all of your photos unless you switch to a paid account (and it is a PAIN IN THE HEINEY to rescue your pictures from their site).

Why would ANYONE give in to this extortion and pay? Should we trust them THIS time.

Hell to the no.

If you are going to a pay site... pay one that doesn't mess around with the dishonest bait-and-switch. or.. try shoebox, Google backup, or smugmug, which remain free.

screw Flickr.... with a rusty screw.

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Not what it used to be
16 September 2014
Reviewer: Zrsio4 from Chicago

110 of 215 people found this review helpful

As a long term pro member this was a great site. The recent redesign muffed up functionality I once enjoyed plus I can no longer sign on, as others have noted- Originally I had a Yahoo account which got hacked and I closed it. Flickr used Google/facebook as a sign in so not a problem but now has discontinued it forcing customers back to their old Yahoo accounts. Called Flickr and they said call ATT and reset the password which was a complete nightmare since I have ATT phones, internet and TV with passwords. Turns out my old Yahoo account was pre SBC Yahoo purchase, preATT SBC purchase, preATT FLICKR purchase and my reset email was an old account I closed.

You know, if FLICKR's customer service could just resolve the sign in problem I would stay but instead I think I will migrate to a different host. Not wasting anymore time with ATT's miserable customer service trying to resolve such a simple problem.

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Wish it worked
06 July 2014
Reviewer: M from UT

108 of 171 people found this review helpful

Signing up was simple and easy and the amount of free storage is incredible. But storage to infinity isn't any good if you can't upload photos. I haven't been able to upload a single photo. I've tried groups, singles, saving to my computer, their old uploader, their new uploader. A google search shows this to be a very common problem after their site revamp. Flickr sounds awesome but I can't even use it.

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Member since 2005 leaving
27 March 2014
Reviewer: Anaguma from Wisconsin

150 of 253 people found this review helpful

Flickr was once a place to store, organize, and browse other people's photos and was good at it. Recently, (26 March 2014), the MBAs in charge have taken it from an organizational site to something resembling Windows 8. I can no longer manage groups or sets (you can only see 10 for each photo with no option for seeing all the groups a photo has been put into) and the distracting side bar with some comments is always on the screen which is not helpful if you don't have a very wide monitor. The reason I used it for such a long time, paying for the former "Pro" account, is that is was easy to place your photo into groups and sets with various tags so you could share with other flickr member or quickly find photos you were looking for. As of 26 March, all this left or became buried in scrolling dig menus. The only way you can see the total of groups you've put your photo into is to try to add or subtract it from all groups you've joined but hen you get huge boxes showing only 8 groups at a... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Your Original Photos Can be Downloaded by Anyone
21 January 2014
Reviewer: Anonymous from USA

114 of 228 people found this review helpful

When I discovered anyone viewing my photos can download them, including the originals, I closed my account quickly! There are apparently some tricks to discouraging this but it is just too cumbersome and may or may not work. I have no idea why Flickr doesn't consider this a priority. SmugMug can do it, stock photo sites can do it; Flickr should be able to do it, too. Since they can't or won't, adios! And for those who say if it is on the Web, one should expect it to be downloaded: I'm not talking about low-quality JPG thumbnails, I'm talking about originals.

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Once a good site
15 December 2013
Reviewer: Douglas from Michigan, USA

129 of 245 people found this review helpful

Flickr has always worked great, easy to use, easy to view photos, that is until about mid 2013 when they decided to "fix it". Now the site is slow, hard to use and just annoying. There is no option for how any ones home page or first page opens. It loads a hundred or more photos first thing. While these photos are loading you can not do anything else. If you try to scroll you get the dreaded "fetching more photos" across the screen. While it is "fetching more photos" you can not access any of the menus. If you try the pull down menu will appear but it won't stay long enough to click on anything. If it does happen to stay pulled down none of the choices will work and the menu goes back up. Why? Because it's "fetching more photos". The site is very slow and unresponsive. The staff of Flickr are also very unresponsive. It seems as though they're tired of the complaints and have just taken the attitude that the site is working they way THEY want it and it matters not what the users think. This is sad because it used to be so... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Avoid if u want to put ur pics in a set order
17 September 2013
Reviewer: Frustated from Uk

123 of 235 people found this review helpful

Horrible to navigate, lot of uploads stopped midstream, site crashed several times for uploading. photostream arranges ur pics randomly even if they are in the correct order in the set, deleted my account. after wasting 3days of my time trying to upload my wedding pictures.

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Can't use it if you can't login
13 July 2013
Reviewer: Paul from Canada

121 of 235 people found this review helpful

I am on this site to find a better photo sharing site. With Flickr's changes to their site I can't login more than half the days I try. The error messages are with their certificate or whatever, don't really care but if you can't get to the site...When you can login, the pages jump and shift, the images can take forever to load (I have all new computer equip), and logging out is ridiculously difficult since the icon disappears so fast. They need to hire someone to make them a decent web page. The photos are nice when you can see them.

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Hackng a problem
13 February 2013
Reviewer: Sandy from USA

132 of 201 people found this review helpful

I am going to close my flickr account. I'm actually on this web page to pick a new site. First, my private photos, shared only with family, were made publicly accessible, and now my family is getting spam emails allegedly from me. Yahoo is victim of too many hacking attacks for me to continue. It is not secure.

In summary, I would not recommend Flickr to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Flickr.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Photo Sharing Websites Reviews







Advertisements