» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Ipernity Reviews

Ipernity image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 12 reviews)

Category: Photo Sharing Websites (AKA Online Photo Album Sites)
Website: http://www.ipernity.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(4.3 Stars) based on 12 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Quality of Sharing Features:
Range/Quality of Prints and Gifts:
Other Features:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
8 Reviews
4 Stars
2 Reviews
3 Stars
1 Review
2 Stars
0 Reviews
1 Star
1 Review

83% of Users Recommend it



12 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 12
Long Live Ipernity
10 October 2018
Reviewer: Benastrada from London, UK

15 of 22 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of Ipernity since (almost) day 1; I also had an account with Yahoo's Flickr, Panoramio, 1px, and many others before the whole internet madness for photo-sharing etc took off.

However, whereas Flickr and so many others sold out to corporate greed, tried to replicate Facebook cyber-hegemony, envisioning the millions of dollars that could be raised from the hapless and brainwashed masses, Ipernity remained true to itself throughout the years: a photo sharing platform, as well as a site where you could develop friendships if you wanted (no bullying into having to take on the 'social' aspect of it), use the site to stash your videos or even other documents if you wanted, and even write a blog-type 'Articles'...

Someone said 'for years Ipernity suffered badly' as if it had been an intrinsic problem of the site and site owners. While I agree that the take over of the management of the site by the Ipernity Members Association - yes, you read right, it is run by its own members, not by some multimillion dollars US corporation!!! - has led to improvements, I believe that the site and previous team had simply suffered, to the point... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


A high quality site
29 September 2018
Reviewer: Jojo from Paris, France

8 of 15 people found this review helpful

Ipernity user image
Nothing to say: the functionalities of this site are original and rich, they allow a friendly and in-depth exchange with the community through thematic groups, articles, privileged links etc.

Flexibility and speed of use, clear and functional ergonomics. A friendly spirit governs relations between members, especially since they have taken over the governance of the site and made it something fraternal.

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Good website
17 September 2018
Reviewer: David from London, UK.

9 of 16 people found this review helpful

I use it as a backup for my flickr photos, in case anything happens to them there and importing from flickr is very easy.

It is very good and easy to use, I just wish there was a way to group albums.
I strongly recommend it.

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Refreshing site to share photos and more
17 September 2018
Reviewer: Laura Fletcher from Portland, OR, USA

8 of 15 people found this review helpful

Lovely website. I started using ipernity after becoming disillusioned with another website I had been using. I no longer wanted to just stream over tons of images. I was looking of interaction and people with interest in the photography as a whole. Ipernity is a place where one can see lots of photos, but has the community of people really taking time to see your photos and many times communicate with you about it.

After struggling, the site was bought by the users and is now a non-profit. It truly is a community run website. That is rare these days, and worth supporting. People are friendly and the software is easy to use. This is a good place to expect people to comment on your photographs. Have a question? Many users will help out. Lots of different interests that are easy to find with the groups and albums features.

It's very easy to upload photos (they always keep your full image that you can also download at anytime), and to transfer photos from other websites. Many people really enjoy the PIP feature (I don't happen to use it).

Oh!... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Favourite place to show phtographs
15 September 2018
Reviewer: D P Lush from UK

14 of 21 people found this review helpful

Ipernity user image
Ipernity displays photographs really well. Lots of white space, easy ways to collect pictures into albums and a simple uploading process. It's members are massively enthusiastic and friendly and don't hesitate to share their appreciation of each others work. The range of images is great. You'll see every type of photography you can imagine. The site also allows you to store documents and publish articles. I've been a member for several years and I have almost 50,000 viewings of my pictures, so I'm very happy I've found an audience for one of my passions.

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Member Owned
14 September 2018
Reviewer: Reg222 from UK

10 of 16 people found this review helpful

The site suffered badly for a number of years but has made significant improvements since the membership take over it is now a user friendly and a great site for photographers to post and comment, possibly not the cheapest option on the web but one that deserves a try

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Ipernity - My Photo Home
13 September 2018
Reviewer: Peggyc from North Carolina USA

11 of 18 people found this review helpful

Ipernity user image
Came over in the Wave after F____r went nuts with their platform.

Haven't looked back.

Translation features are great -
A very unique method of putting a Photo In Photo [ called PiP note ] really adds more to my photo creations. Oh, and the people I've met .. one has visited from Oklahoma - twice ! People don't fave and leave -- they take time to comment on your photo.

This is Home! A member-owned-run site .. can't think of anything not good.

Peggy C

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Second Life
03 July 2018
Reviewer: Monsoma from Austria

22 of 30 people found this review helpful

After four years of technical stagnation and an economic decline in 2017, the website has since been bought by its members. Since then, it has been run as a non-profit service by the community itself. Obviously successful. First improvements can already be seen.

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Pro Account Review
18 April 2014
Reviewer: Kate from England

93 of 196 people found this review helpful

I have a Pro account with Ipernity having previously had a Pro account with Flickr. The interface is much better than the endless scroll of 'new' Flickr but Ipernity's upload speeds are laughable.

Thinking of uploading a set of the smallest of videos - please don't bother unless you can leave your computer on merely uploading for 8 - 12 hours.

With the small uploads allowed with a free account you may not, as I didn't, realise these appalling upload speeds until you've paid for Pro.

I really only wanted Ipernity for short video uploads. Now I'm not quite sure what to use it for since it clearly isn't much use for that. Unless I want to upload one a day for eternity.

In summary, I would not recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


A good alternative to flickr
01 June 2013
Reviewer: Bill Blake from UK

133 of 243 people found this review helpful

Simple clean and well organised ipernity have a very clear mission: to curate your digital heritage.

Club subscriptions good value and users have full control over image download protection.

Upload speeds could be better but ok.

In summary, I would recommend Ipernity to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Ipernity.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Photo Sharing Websites Reviews







Advertisements