» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Picasa from Google Reviews

Picasa from Google image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 6 reviews)

Category: Photo Sharing Websites (AKA Online Photo Album Sites)
Website: http://picasa.google.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(2.7 Stars) based on 6 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Quality of Sharing Features:
Range/Quality of Prints and Gifts:
Other Features:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
0 Reviews
4 Stars
3 Reviews
3 Stars
0 Reviews
2 Stars
1 Review
1 Star
2 Reviews

67% of Users Recommend it



6 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 6 of 6
Picasa is now retired
26 February 2017
Reviewer: Mundoo from South Australia

23 of 47 people found this review helpful

Picasa from Google user image
When going to Picasa you get the following message.

Moving on from Picasa
We’ve decided to retire Picasa in order to focus on a single photo service in Google Photos – a new, smarter photo app that works seamlessly across mobile and the web.

Picasa is retired.

In summary, I would not recommend Picasa from Google to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


How I miss Picasa...
23 November 2015
Reviewer: Sadroo from Southbury, CT, USA

72 of 156 people found this review helpful

I've used Picasa for editing and Picasa Web Albums for photo sharing since 2005. The latest Google+ addition has ruined the web sharing aspect of the program and made it virtually useless. I don't want to store all my photos in the Google cloud and I don't want to be a member of Google+. Used to be you could opt-out but not anymore. Their "help" center gives you instructions to delete your profile by clicking buttons that don't exist anymore- I guess since the November 2015 update. Bye-bye Google!!!!

In summary, I would not recommend Picasa from Google to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Good Free Sharing Site
13 February 2015
Reviewer: Wayne Rasmussen from Maplewood, MN

58 of 140 people found this review helpful

Basic sharing with Picasa is free and easy to use, but large volumes can get costly and a little slow. There are large numbers of users and the response can be quite slow. For a beginner it may be one of the best solutions out there, but more advanced users will find a lot of missing options.

Organizing a large volume of photos will not be easy or inexpensive. It is simple to get started and the sharing options are good.

Picasa is updated frequently and may require re-initialization of your DB with each update.

In summary its worth a try for new users and those with smaller volumes may find it very satisfactory.

In summary, I would recommend Picasa from Google to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Read the license
11 December 2012
Reviewer: SR from Alaska

152 of 284 people found this review helpful

Picasa from Google user image
Used Picasa years ago and loved it. I have started taking pics again so naturally went to Picasa. Not sure why, but I actually read the lic agreement. I was stunned to discover Google gets "an irrevocable, world-wide, royalty-free license" to reproduce, publish and display all content uploaded for the purpose of promoting googles services (See section 11 of end user agreement). I declined and am now looking for a photo sharing site.

Probably still a great site for family sharing but anyone who has photos for sale may want to look else where.

In summary, I would recommend Picasa from Google to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Picasa User -- Looking at Alternatives for Web Sharing
27 July 2012
Reviewer: DaveAfrica from Cape Town, South Africa

160 of 293 people found this review helpful

I have used Picasa for many years and been a very happy customer/supporter recommending it often. The editing software is easy to use and satisfactory for people not wanting to spend hours on their PC. The web sharing application was well integrated and also easy to use and share. Earlier this year (2012), Google released a new version of the product that integrates the web sharing with Google+. I have no problem with the concept, but the implementation is flawed. I have quit Google+ and am trying to use an older version of the web sharing functions, but there are major security issues. I recommend Picasa only if you are not interested in web sharing.

As a consequence, I'm looking for an alternative to Picasa, and I am very pleased to find this site to help me.

In summary, I would recommend Picasa from Google to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Picasa
17 December 2010
Reviewer: Pony36 from San Fran, cA

159 of 307 people found this review helpful

Very pleased. at the beginning had some problems downloading the photos - unfortunately if you try downloading them in their original size it will take you forever.. so you need to remember to choose the option for smaller resolution. also, it's much faster if you use the software on your computer vs trying to download them directly on the site.

In summary, I would recommend Picasa from Google to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Picasa.Google.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Photo Sharing Websites Reviews







Advertisements